January Goals

I know that it’s a few days late to be posting this, but better late than never, right? Say what you will about new year’s resolutions, but here in the Learn, Eat, Live household, we’re really working to make some changes in our lifestyle.

Goal #1: Complete the Whole 30. As I mentioned in another post, I failed miserably at my last Whole 30, but had great results the first time around. This time around, I’m at Day 9 and still going strong. Only 21 days left!

doing-the-w30-IG

Goal #2: Start a weight-lifting routine. Other than Pilates class, I’ve avoided the gym for a very long time. I hate running and I hate treadmills. I was nervous about jumping into the weight room part of the gym because it’s so heavily dominated by men. I also didn’t (and still don’t) have a lifting partner. Until earlier this week, the last time I had done any type of weight training was early probably about ten years ago! I’m changing that this month with a new (and thankfully very cheap) gym membership. I’m starting with this routine, and will adjust as I get stronger.

Goal #3: Don’t skip Pilates. This is a class that I had to prepay for, so every time I skip, that’s money I’ve already spent for which I get nothing in return. I’ve been attending Pilates for over a year now. In that time, I’ve advanced from beginner to intermediate, but I won’t see additional changes if I don’t continue attending class regularly.

Dreamstime Stock Photos

Dreamstime Stock Photos

Goal #4: Use You Need A Budget (YNAB) software to build a better monthly budget and to reduce unnecessary and non-budgeted spending. Several months ago, I started a full-time position, thereby increasing my take-home pay (yay!). Unfortunately, I allowed lifestyle inflation to occur, and we spent, rather than saved, most of the increased income. This month is the month to get back on track, and I’m doing that with a free trial of YNAB.

What are your January goals?

Leave a Reply

