Whole 30: Days 20-25

Today is day 25 of the Whole 30.  Though I haven’t taken the time to log my meals over the past several days, they have been completely compliant Whole 30. On any given day I have had a cheat here or there. One day I had  spoonful of peanut butter to see if I still love it as much as I think I do. The answer is yes. Yes I do. I’ve also started to slowly add dairy back into my diet. I know that the Whole 30 creators would have wanted me to wait until the Whole 30 is over because they argue that it takes takes 3 weeks to form a habit, so 30 days gives you 9 extra days to get those habits down. But, I’m already convinced that most of the foods in the Whole 30 shouldn’t be in my diet, so I’m ready to move on to the reintegration phase wherein I add specific non-Whole 30 items.

So, why am I convinced? I had my annual physical yesterday, and I was the lowest weight that my doctor has observed me at in the four years that I’ve been at that office. I was 17 pounds lighter than the last time I was there (about 5-6 months ago). I can attribute 11 of those pounds (and a few inches off of my waist) to the first 23 days of the Whole 30. My blood pressure also stabilized and is now in the normal range. I’ve had to take medication for this since I was 22, but after 9 days of the Whole 30, I had to quit my medication because I was dizzy and lightheaded (that’s what happens when you take blood pressure medication with normal blood pressure). My results are all the evidence I need to continue eating this way.

One of the reasons I’m starting to add dairy back in is because my doctor was concerned that I wouldn’t get enough calcium otherwise. I know that dark green vegetables and various nuts, seeds, and fish all have calcium, but I’m not sure that I eat enough of these items in any given day to get the calcium I need. So, I’m adding in organic milk and cheese. I’d like to add yogurt, but I’m finding it surprisingly difficult to find full fat yogurt at the grocery store. I guess this means it’s finally time to learn how to make my own!

Since I’m posting, I’ll share what I ate so far today.

Breakfast: homemade egg casserole (eggs, coconut milk, apple & chicken sausage, spinach, asparagus, tomato, salt, pepper, garlic powder) and one cup of milk

Lunch: spinach and arugula drizzled with avocado oil and balsamic vinegar, topped with roma tomato, walnuts, avocado, and dried cranberries, v8

Dinner: I’m planning on making some sort of ground beef and cabbage dish

One thought on “Whole 30: Days 20-25

Leave a Reply

