Whole 30: Day 16

Woo hoo! Yesterday marks a full day of being officially on the other half of the Whole 30! Starting on day 16 and spanning to day 27, the Whole 30 timeline calls this period Tiger Blood. They describe this phase in the following quote:

Goodbye cravings, hello Tiger Blood! This must be what everyone is talking about!

You’ve hit the downhill slope of your Whole30 and life is beautiful. Your energy is through the roof, you’ve kicked the cravings, you’re experimenting with new, delicious food, and you’ve finally got the time to notice that your clothes fit better, your workouts are stronger, and you are generally more awesome.

Considering I recently recovered from two back-to-back sinus infections, I’m not too upset that I didn’t feel this great. But I will say that I don’t have any cravings and that my clothes are fitting better.

The most important thing (to me) that I have noticed is that I rarely feel hungry. Sure, by 4:30 pm or so, I start feeling somewhat hungry for dinner, but it’s not that gnawing, stomach rumbling hangry feeling. (Yes, I did mean to type hangry. Anyone who gets hangry knows exactly what that means.) I read that this would happen in It Starts with Food and Why We Get Fat books and on countless blogs devoted to the Whole 30 and Paleo/Primal eating, but honestly, I didn’t believe one word of it. I just assumed that, like any other diet*, people just said this because they loved how they felt and looked. I never thought for a second that I would actually feel less hungry throughout the day. But, I do! And it’s awesome! After reading the aforementioned books, and a few other sources, I know I don’t feel hungry because I’ve stabilized my insulin and leptin levels (and probably a few other hormones that I’m not remembering), but still. I was skeptical.

The hardest part of all of this has been making sure that I have food prepared (or ready to easily prepare). I have to remember to pull frozen meat and fish out of the freezer and put it in the fridge about two days early because things take forever to thaw in our fridge. Thankfully, once meat is thawed, most recipes don’t take that long to prepare. If I’m roasting vegetables, I can just toss everything in the oven at the same time.

What I ate:

Breakfast: chopped green pepper and onion, one diced roma tomato, and one half of Aidells apple & chicken sausage with two eggs sauteed in olive oil, one mug of Irish breakfast tea

Lunch: Paleo oven-fried chicken, peaches and mixed berries, lemon Larabar

Dinner: leftover Moroccan chicken with mixed greens (spinach and some other salad green that I got in my CSA)

After dinner: one glass of Malbec

Cheats: 1 (Malbec)

How I slept: very well. I’ve been in bed before 10pm, and that helps a lot with getting up at 6am

*I want to reiterate that I don’t consider the Whole 30 to be a diet in the conventional sense of the word “diet.”

Leave a Reply

