Whole 30: Day 13

Confession time (again!): I had tater tots last night. And they were delicious. But not as delicious as I thought they would be, so I didn’t finish them. I’m not sure what they were fried in because I didn’t ask. Maybe I should have, but I wasn’t very hopeful that the waitstaff at a dive bar would be all that knowledgeable about the oils in which their foods are fried. Anyway, the real point of this is that those tater tots sat heavy in my stomach all night. I wasn’t uncomfortable, but I could feel a difference in my stomach from eating them. So the moral of the story (at least as it pertains to my food decisions yesterday) is that making cheating on the Whole 30 gives you a new appreciation/recognition of how some unhealthy foods make you feel yucky.

What I ate:

Breakfast: chopped asparagus, one diced roma tomato, and one half of Aidells apple & chicken sausage with two eggs sauteed in ghee, one mug of Irish breakfast tea

Lunch: spaghetti squash with one roma tomato,  garlic, basil, and oregano, half of an avocado, one banana

Dinner: one burger with bacon lettuce, tomato, onion, mustard, some ketchup (no bun), fried pickles (I removed the breading), and about 10 tater tots

Cheats: 2 – the kethcup probably had high fructose corn syrup, and tater tots are definitely from white potatoes. But, in my defense, I was at a bar for dinner with friends on St. Patrick’s day and only drank water! It’s all about choosing your battles.

How I slept: like a rock! 6 am still comes too quickly, but once I was out, I was out.

Leave a Reply

