Whole 30: Day 9

Yesterday, I woke up with a full-fledged head cold or sinus infection. It’s too soon to tell which it is, but I think it’s a cold. By the end of the day, I felt too awful to try to cook anything, so my dinner was an assortment of things that were readily available in the pantry and fridge. I took another Airborne in the morning, so I had more sucralose (which is against the Whole 30 rules). When I’ve gone through my current supply of cold remedies, I’ll focus on purchasing remedies without sugar in the future.

I’ve started thinking more about sustainable seafood. I thought that I would be fine buying all seafood at Costco after reading this article in Costco Connection. In short, Costco consulted the World Wildlife Fund (WWF). WWF outlined a list of guidelines to minimize the negative effects of fish farming, deforestation, antibiotic use and biodiversity and encourage sustainable farming practices. These guidelines were handed over to the Aquaculture Stewardship Council, an independent and non-profit organization that implements practices and certifies farms. Nonetheless, Costco seafood is still predominantly farmed rather than wild caught, so I intend to look into just how sustainable their sustainable fish farming practices actually are.

What I ate:

Breakfast: chopped asparagus and one Aidells apple & chicken sausage with two eggs sauteed in olive oil, one mug of Irish breakfast tea

Lunch: red sauce with ground turkey over spaghetti squash (note: this was the last of the red sauce! only a little more spaghetti squash to go)

Dinner: v8, black olives, blueberries, and almonds

How I slept: I slept pretty well given that I had taken sudafed. I woke up feeling somewhat better and somewhat rested. I’ll take that as a sign of recovery.

Leave a Reply

