Whole 30: Day 6

If I had taken any of my scientific training seriously, I would have never started the Whole 30 right now. As I mentioned in previous posts, on Day 1 of the Whole 30 I had just finished a round of Cipro and was not yet feeling 100%. Then, the clocks changed on Sunday! I really despise Daylight Saving Time. My body is still an hour behind, and it made it super hard to get out of bed yesterday morning.

I have not yet mentioned my activity levels, and they certainly matter when considering one’s overall health. My work during the day is fairly sedentary, so I spend a lot of time in front of a computer at a desk. Thankfully, we have a puppy and because of him I take walks most days of the week. I read somewhere that a girl’s best exercise friend is a dog, and it is totally. true. I usually remember to wear my FitBit on a daily basis, but I typically do not exceed (or even reach) the minimum recommendation of 10,000 steps per day, but I often get pretty darn close. I also go to a Pilates class once per week.

I tried two new recipes yesterday. One for salmon cakes and one for curry roasted cauliflower. The salmon cakes were done first, so I ate two of those while the cauliflower baked. By the time the cauliflower was done, I was too full to eat any. I did try one piece, and it was really good. The rest went into the fridge for later.

What I ate:

Breakfast: 1 banana before taking the dog for a walk, 1 mug of Irish breakfast tea, 2 eggs and 1 Aidells apple & chicken sausage (sliced) sauteed in olive oil

Lunch: red sauce with ground turkey over spaghetti squash

Afternoon snack: green beans (I was full from lunch, but felt hungry by about 2:30 or 3)

Dinner: salmon cakes (recipe here)

How I slept: better than the previous nights, though I still struggled to fall asleep. I blame daylight saving time. I woke up fairly well-rested.

Leave a Reply

