Whole 30: Day 5

Yesterday went pretty well and there’s not much to report on that front. I wasn’t very hungry during the day except around 4:30 pm so I snacked on a few almonds. Since yesterday was the first Sunday in Lent, we took communion at church. I could have declined, but decided that the gluten-free bread option was fine. I know that the Whole 30 doesn’t technically allow for any cheats and that even trace amounts of grains can do a lot of harm for those who have an autoimmune disorder, but I have no reason to believe that I have any severe food allergies.

I recently learned that vegetable slicer/spiralizers exist! If you have no idea what I’m talking about, check one out here. You can take any vegetable and turn it into thin or thick spirals or ribbons. It’s the perfect solution for making your own vegetable “pasta”! I may have to invest in one before zucchini season hits!

What I ate:

Breakfast: one half of an Aidells Apple & Chicken sausage (sliced), chopped green peppers, and onions sauteed with eggs in olive oil, one mug of Irish breakfast tea

Lunch: spaghetti squash, red sauce with ground turkey, half of an avocado

Pre-dinner snack: a few almonds

Dinner: 1 1/2 tilapia fillets, roasted broccoli  and cauliflower, one fourth of an avocado, strawberries and blueberries

Number of cheats: 2 – gluten-free bread at communion at church, I found out after I started eating them that the strawberries had some added sugar

How I slept: I slept pretty well, though daylight saving time made it difficult for me to fall asleep on time and wake up on time. I really rely on the natural sunlight to help me get out of bed. I’ll have to start using my alarm clock with the wake-up light again.

Leave a Reply

