Whole 30: Day 4

As you might have noticed, I changed the title to include only Whole 30 and not the Primal Blueprint. This is because I’ve decided to adhere to the rules of the Whole 30 for 30 days. This means no dairy, no “Paleo cheats,” and no red wine (all allowed, to some extent, in the Primal Blueprint).

As you’ll see, I ate some goat cheese yesterday. It was a small amount, about 1 tablespoon. I was at a friend’s house and she served me salad that looked totally safe to eat, until I found some goat cheese under the leaves! I did notice that, though the goat cheese was tasty, the salad was fine without it. She had a variety of other foods at the table, but they were easy to avoid because I had recently had dinner. The evening got more difficult when I stopped by a friend’s birthday party later that evening. There was a fresh batch of homemade magic bars on the table in front of us, and they smelled so good. There were a variety of other snacks and beverages that were also not compliant with the Whole 30. I resisted all of them… even the birthday cake! Phew.

What I ate:

Breakfast: ~7 a.m., one half of an Aidells Apple & Chicken sausage (sliced), chopped green peppers, and onions sauteed with eggs in olive oil, one mug of Irish breakfast tea

Lunch: ~11:45 a.m., half of an avocado, leftover roasted butternut squash topped with the red tomato sauce with ground turkey that I made the day before (list of ingredients, but few measurements, here)

Dinner: leftover curried carrot ginger soup and more avocado, spring mix with balsamic and olive oil dressing and sunflower seeds (and a bit of goat cheese — oops!)

How I felt: Tired throughout the morning. I started to get hungry for lunch about 45 minutes before I ate. Likewise, I started to get hungry for dinner around 4:00 p.m, but waited until closer to 5:00 p.m. I’m not sure if I can trust my body to tell me if it’s truly hungry yet, so I’m really trying to avoid snacking. I ate a lot of avocado yesterday because there was very little fat the other foods that I ate.

How I slept: I slept well. I got to bed late, around 11:30 pm, and slept in until about 7:30 am (which was really 8:30 am thanks to daylight saving time).

Number of cheats: 1 – the goat cheese was a cheat (even though it was accidental).

Leave a Reply

