Whole 30/Primal Blueprint: Day 3

I’ve been thinking a lot about organic foods. The book It Starts with Food highly recommends eating organic, grass-fed or free range meats. The meat I have in the freezer currently is not organic, and I plan to use it before buying anything else. I haven’t priced organic, grass-fed or free-range meats in a while, but I recall that they might be price-prohibitive.

I was already purchasing organic, cage-free eggs and organic milk prior to the Whole 30. I buy most of my fruits and vegetables at Costco or Aldi, so if their options are organic, then I buy organic. When it’s time to purchase more meat, I’ll try to incorporate more organic options. Otherwise, I think I’m doing the best I can while staying within a reasonable budget and maintaining a healthy diet.

We had several pounds of roma tomatoes from Sam’s parents’ garden last summer waiting to be used, so I made a homemade spaghetti sauce. I often make red sauces, so the only thing that was different about this one is that I didn’t add a spoonful of sugar (to offset the acidity of the tomatoes) and I didn’t add a splash of red wine. In addition to the several pounds of roma tomatoes, I used about 1.5 pounds of ground turkey (browned and drained), 1 green pepper, 1 large onion, 2 carrots (all veggies were diced), fennel seeds, salt, pepper, basil, and Italian seasoning (all herbs/spices were to taste).

What I ate:

Breakfast: one banana before walking the dog, 2 eggs with green pepper an onion scrambled in olive oil, one Aidells chicken & apple sausage link, one mug of Irish breakfast tea

Lunch: leftover curried carrot ginger soup, 1/2 of an avocado, green beans

Dinner: spaghetti squash and homemade spaghetti sauce with ground turkey

Thoughts/observations: I had a dull headache for most of the day. The Whole 30 book and forums say that this is completely normal in the first week. I wish that I had started dinner earlier, as I didn’t realize I’d be as hungry as I was by 6 p.m. last night. I’m going to have be much more proactive about roasting and preparing time-consuming meals ahead of time. I was not hungry between breakfast and lunch, but I was really hungry between lunch and dinner.

How I Slept: I was so tired when I went to bed, so I slept really well. I got a little more than 8 hours of sleep and woke up feeling mostly, but not totally, well-rested.

One thought on “Whole 30/Primal Blueprint: Day 3

Leave a Reply

