Whole 30/Primal Blueprint: Day 2 and Curried Carrot Ginger Soup Recipe

I didn’t get to the store until the evening, so breakfast and lunch remained boring yesterday. To be fair, my meals would have been boring even if I weren’t doing the Whole 30/Primal Blueprint because I had a bunch of leftovers that I had to eat either way. When I finally got to the store, I picked up a few essential ingredients including coconut milk, coconut flakes, coconut oil (noticing a theme?), avocado oil, apple chicken sausage, and more eggs. I already had carrots, onions, butternut squash, spaghetti squash, and cauliflower on hand, so I promise that my upcoming meals will be more exciting.

I’ve been getting a lot of carrots in my winter CSA, so a few weeks ago I made this curried carrot soup and it was really good. I decided to make it again last night, and I adapted the recipe so that I could add ginger and coconut milk for a creamier and more flavorful soup. I always thought that immersion blenders were pointless, but after making a creamy soup twice in the past couple of weeks, I may have to add one to my wish list.

While making soup for dinner, I learned that Better Than Bouillon contains sugar. Unfortunately, it was the only thing I had on hand for stock, so I had to use it for my soup anyway. I guess that means that I’ve already broken one of the rules of the Whole 30, but I’m not going to sweat it. Once the bouillon is gone, I’ll either start making my own or buy a version of stock without added sugar.

Note: today is actually day 3 of the Whole 30 for me, but I’m posting about each day after it happened so that I can include how I slept.

What I ate:

Breakfast: two eggs scrambled in olive oil with green bell pepper and onion, a banana, Irish breakfast tea, with a mug of Lipton superfruit green tea later in the morning (neither tea with added sweetener)

Morning snack: smoked almonds

Lunch: leftover turkey taco meat and green beans, frozen strawberries and peaches

Dinner: leftover marinated pork and carrot curry ginger soup

How I felt: I felt fine, the dull headache I had all day the day before seems to have subsided. I was still pretty tired, but yesterday was my last day on antibiotics, so I hope that I start to improve soon. I was hungry at various points throughout the day, but not terribly so. I could barely finish my soup at dinner, not because I didn’t like it, but because I was so darn full! The quantify of food that I’m eating seems to be a lot less than usual, but I’m not nearly as hungry throughout the day.

How I slept: I slept very, very poorly last night. I had a hard time getting to sleep (not that unusual for me), and then I woke up around 5:30 when the dog starting rustling around in his crate. I think I can attribute the poor sleep to having a lot on my mind.

03062014

Curried Carrot Ginger Soup

INGREDIENTS:

  • 3 tablespoons chopped ginger
  • 1 onion
  • coconut oil for sauteing onion
  • 1 cup coconut milk
  • 2 cups chicken stock
  • 1 cup water
  • 1 1/2 tablespoons curry powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon cayenne pepper
  • salt & pepper to taste
  • 1/2 teaspoon garlic powder

DIRECTIONS:

  1. Chop onion and saute in coconut oil until translucent.
  2. Add remaining ingredients and bring to a simmer.
  3. Simmer for 20-25 minutes, or until carrots are tender.
  4. Blend with immersion blender or blender/food processor until smooth.
Leave a Reply

