Lemon Cranberry Muffins

If I could casually bake for a living, I would. I suppose I could learn how to be a great photographer, become a more witty writer, and post more often and eventually I’d have enough followers to make ad revenue, but I’m too busy writing a dissertation to do that.

Anyway. Today, I combined my love of tart flavors (lemon AND cranberry), baking, and foods that are within a reasonable calorie count with my goal of using up ingredients in my cupboards and made cranberry lemon muffins. The muffins are are based off of raspberry lemon muffins that I found on allrecipes. These turned out great, and next time I make them I’ll add even more lemon zest and some more lemon extract. I did use fresh squeezed lemon juice (I needed lemon zest, after all!), so perhaps concentrated lemon would have given a stronger flavor.

According to the original recipes, these have 175 calories per muffin. It’s likely that the final calorie count in these was somewhat lower because I used nonfat Greek yogurt.

IMG_3416

INGREDIENTS:

  • 1/2 cup plain greek yogurt
  • 3 tablespoons canola oil
  • 1 tablespoon fresh lemon juice
  • 1/3 cup eggbeaters (or 2 egg whites)
  • 1 teaspoon grated lemon zest
  • 1 1/2 cups flour
  • 3/4 cup sugar
  • 2 teaspoons baking soda
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 3/4 cup dried cranberries
  • Sugar to sprinkle on top (optional)

DIRECTIONS:

  1. Combine flour, baking soda, salt, and sugar; set aside
  2. Combine remain ingredients until well-blended
  3. Blend in dry ingredients until just mixed. Do not over-mix, or the muffins will be tough and dense
  4. Spoon evenly into muffin pan (in papers, if not using a silicone pan)
  5. Bake for 12-15 minutes at 400 degrees

Yields 12 muffins.

2 thoughts on “Lemon Cranberry Muffins

Leave a Reply

