Cranberry Applesauce

My latest goal has been to use up everything in our freezers and cupboards.  I had one cup of cranberries in the freezer and several apples wilting on the counter, so the obvious next step was to make cranberry applesauce. My grandmother, always a little too concerned with the health properties of food, always served a pretty bland Thanksgiving dinner. The one thing I looked forward to was the cranberry applesauce. I guess the fruits, that are fantastic on their own, refused to be bullied into blandness. I found this simple recipe, which I halved, and it turned out just as expected.

Once I had some cranberry applesauce on hand, I made bran muffins (substituting the cranberry applesauce for the oil). They had great texture, but the flavor needs some improving. I’ll post a recipe for them once I’ve gotten it right.

IMG_3406

Cranberry Applesauce (adapted from SimplyRecipes)

INGREDIENTS:

  • 1.5 to 2 pounds apples, peeled, cored, and sliced
  • 1 cup cranberries
  • 1 tablespoon lemon juice
  • 1/4 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup water
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt

DIRECTIONS:

  1. Combine all ingredients in a pot. Bring to a simmer, and simmer for 20-30 minutes, or until easily mashed.
  2. Mash ingredients together.
  3. Eat one bowl! Or, make muffins 🙂
Leave a Reply

