Turkey Rice Soup

After Thanksgiving, I was given a ton of leftover turkey. I tried my hand at making stock with the turkey carcasses and ended up with several quarts of stock in my freezer. As for the actual meat, I ate as much turkey as I could – I put it on salads, I made turkey shepherd’s pie, I ate it with leftover gravy and stuffing. After a week of eating leftover turkey for lunch and for dinner every day, I’d had enough. The rest of the turkey joined the stock in the freezer.

After two months of active avoidance, turkey and I reunited today and I made a turkey rice soup. This soup was really simple because the homemade turkey stock already had a lot of flavor. I meant to add corn, but I forgot. It would also be good with peas or green beans.

Now, if you’ll excuse me, I intend to eat soup while watching The Puppy Bowl.

IMG_3395

Turkey Rice Soup Recipe

INGREDIENTS:

  • 3 quarts turkey stock
  • 1 onion
  • 2 stalks of celery
  • 2 large carrots
  • 6 cups chopped or shredded turkey
  • 1 1/4 cups rice
  • Salt and pepper to taste

DIRECTIONS:

  1. Add turkey stock and turkey meat to a large pot and bring to a boil.
  2. Add the rest of ingredients, turn the heat down to a simmer. Simmer for 45 minutes or until rice is done.
Leave a Reply

