My Goals for 2013

I’ve been waking up before 7:00 am every day since returning from Europe. I wish that the explanation for this was that I’m super motivated to get an early start on my dissertation every day. The sad truth is that I returned from Europe with a nasty ear infection, and the combination of jet lag and illness has prevented me from staying awake beyond 9:00 pm since returning. Nonetheless, I enjoy maintaining a grandma schedule. Early bedtimes and early waking times, when I can maintain them, work well for me. I’m the most productive and most likely to adopt healthy behaviors when I adhere to a normal schedule. This is why one of my goals for 2013 is to adhere to a normal schedule.

There’s only one problem with setting goals for 2013: I’m not a resolutions person. Maybe I’m too afraid of failure to resolve to real change. This year’s 365 Project is the closest I’ve ever come to committing to a new year’s resolution. Nevertheless, I recognize that we all have room to grow and to change. If I had the time, energy, and resolve to devote myself to change in 2013, these would be my goals:

  • Spend less time consuming mindlessly. This primarily includes Facebook, Twitter, and Pinterest, but also Hulu or Netflix. It’s not that I’m going to ban myself from these sites completely, rather I want to regulate my time using them so that they don’t interfere with my productivity during the day.
  • Spend more time producing for myself. Rather than consuming mindlessly (see above point), I would rather funnel my free time into posting on this blog, cooking, and exercising. The blog posting is my attempt to write semi-regularly on a project that I truly enjoy. Unlike academic writing, I won’t have to revise and resubmit. Like academic writing, the more I write here, the better my writing will become. Cooking and exercising are always among the first things to go when I’m busy and stressed, yet they also bring me a lot of joy, which is why I’m making them a priority.
  • Spend more time reading for pleasure. Not much else to say about this, except that I really miss reading for pleasure. Right now I’m re-reading the Harry Potter books!
  • Adhere to better sleep habits. Ah, the goal that inspired this post. Maintaining a bed time is so difficult, especially when I have trouble falling asleep during stressful times. I know that the only way I can achieve other goals is if I maintain a regular schedule, and this starts with sleep habits.
  • Eat and drink more mindfully. I’m a big fan of the blog Can You Stay for Dinner. The author, Andy, often writes about eating mindfully. Mindfulness is a technique I often read about for living a healthier, calmer life. Attempting to be mindful about a process that you have to do on a daily basis is a good place to start. A long term goal is to introduce other mindfulness techniques into my life, like daily meditation. One 365 Project at a time, though.
Leave a Reply

