Fluffy Pancakes

I woke up with cravings for pancakes and peanut butter. The plus side: these two pair wonderfully. The down side: the cooking staff wanted to take today off. My love of pancakes won out, and I ventured to the internet for a pancake recipe. First I checked this blog, but I’ve only ever posted a recipe for pumpkin pancakes. The next stop was allrecipes.com where it took me about 5 seconds to find the most perfect pancake recipe that I’ve ever tried. It has 5 stars after over 4,400 reviews, so I knew it had to be a winner. By the way, the photos of this recipe on allrecipes.com are far superior to my photo.

I was too tired, and frankly still a little too sick (I’m recovering from a nasty sinus infection), to think about making any substitutions to this recipe. And I’m glad I didn’t! The next time I make these, I might test to see how they hold up to wheat flour, but otherwise, this recipe is a keeper. I also used salted butter, because that’s what I had in the fridge. I recently acquired a copy of The America’s Test Kitchen Family Cookbook which recommends that one always cook with unsalted butter because it gives a better butter flavor and you can better regulate the amount/flavor of salt in your dish. Yes, I know I’m late to the party on buying this cookbook, but better late than never!

Fluffy Pancakes Recipe

IMG_3383

I photographed this poorly – though this pancake appears to be flat, it was quite thick and fluffy.

INGREDIENTS:

  • 3/4 cup milk
  • 2 tablespoons white vinegar
  • 1 cup all-purpose flour
  • 2 tablespoons white sugar
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 egg
  • 2 tablespoons butter, melted
  • cooking spray

DIRECTIONS:

  1. Add vinegar to milk and wait 5 minutes for the milk to sour
  2. Combine and mix all dry ingredients in a bowl. Whisk the egg and melted butter in the sour milk. Add liquid to dry ingredients and stir until there are no lumps.
  3. Heat a skillet to medium heat and pour 1/4 cup of batter onto skillet. Flip when bubbles start to surface or when the pancake has browned.

Original recipe from allrecipes.com.

One thought on “Fluffy Pancakes

Leave a Reply

