Roasted Salmon with Balsamic Vinegar Glaze

I recently acquired the book Cooking Light What to Eat: A Real-World Guide to Making Smart Choices recommended by my friend Jackie. It’s a handy book that that provides tips for choosing the best and healthiest foods for shopping and for deciphering labels on packages at the grocery store. I liked it so much that I bought a copy for my mother. She is now a fan of the book because it doesn’t forbid bacon… I can’t say that I disagree with her.

Anyway, as a result of reading this book, I’ve been working to incorporate more fish into my diet. Luckily, frozen salmon fillets were on sale at Costco, so it seems that the universe was also in favor of me eating more fish. The only thing left to do was to figure out how to prepare all of this salmon. We don’t have a grill, so oven or pan frying are my only real options. I decided on this balsamic vinegar glaze from allrecipes.com. Sam and I both thought that it was too sweet, but liked it other wise. So, I cut the sugar in half, and it’s pretty darn good.

 

INGREDIENTS:

  • 1 tablespoon brown sugar
  • 2.5 tablespoons balsamic vinegar
  • 1 tablespoon olive oil
  • 1/4 teaspoon dried rosemary
  • 1 clove garlic, minced
  • Salt and pepper to taste
  • 1 pound salmon fillets

DIRECTIONS:

  1. Combine sugar, vinegar, oil, rosemary, garlic, salt, and pepper.
  2. Evenly coat salmon in marinade and let marinate in fridge for at least 30 minutes.
  3. Bake salmon for 10-12 minutes at 400 degrees

Note: the original recipe recommends that you reserve some of the marinade and coat the salmon with it 1 minute before removing from the oven. I try to be efficient in the kitchen (read: I’m super lazy), so I skipped this step.

One thought on “Roasted Salmon with Balsamic Vinegar Glaze

Leave a Reply

