Balela Salad

A few weeks ago, I sampled balela salad at Trader Joe’s. I really liked it, so I brought some home. As delicious as balela salad is, it’s very simple to make and calls for few ingredients. Sorry, Trader Joe’s, I’ll be making my own balela salad from now on. Thanks for introducing me to it! I found this recipe at allrecipes.com, which I adapted and halved (I skipped the jalapeno pepper and didn’t use a blender for the dressing). The simplicity of this recipe is what makes it great. It’s a cold salad, so it’s perfect for potlucks because it doesn’t need to be heated. In fact, I’m making this for a potluck meal that I’m attended next weekend. It’s also vegan, so it is friendly to many diet restrictions.

INGREDIENTS:

  • 1 can garbanzo beans, rinsed
  • 1 can black beans, rinsed
  • 1/4 cup fresh mint
  • 1/4 cup fresh parsley
  • 1/4 cup chopped onion
  • 1/2 pint grape tomatoes, halved
  • 1 clove garlic
  • 3 tablespoons olive oil
  • 3 tablespoons lemon juice
  • 3 tablespoons apple cider vinegar
  • Salt and pepper to taste

DIRECTIONS:

  1. Combine all ingredients in a bowl, stir until well-mixed.
Leave a Reply

