Ben’s Chili Bowl

Last week I saw The Milk Carton Kids, The Lumineers, and Old Crow Medicine Show perform at the 9:30 Club. I hadn’t heard of The Milk Carton Kids and was only vaguely familiar with the Lumineers, but I loved both openers a lot.  In addition to playing beautiful music, The Milk Carton Kids were really funny. Check them out, their music is free on their website right now. I really loved The Lumineers. I knew I was going to like them as soon as I saw that there was a woman in the band (the cellist & some vocals). Beyond that, The Lumineers were very upbeat and energetic. Right now they would be known for “Ho Hey,” but I think all of their stuff is great. Of course, Old Crow Medicine Show was great. The best part of my night was singing along with “Wagon Wheel” as loudly as I could.

Enough about the show. The real point of this post is that every time friends and I go to 9:30 Club for a show, we stop at Ben’s Chili Bowl on U Street (which I have listed on Lori’s Guide to Food an Drink in DC). This time, I got chili cheese fries.

And Kendall got a chili cheeseburger.

Ben’s Chili Bowl never disappoints. I think that their most popular item is actually the chili half-smoke, which is a hot sausage topped with chili. I can’t eat the chili half-smoke AND chili cheese fries, so I always have to choose (or share). I could have gone ahead and eaten both, but that probably would have been a pretty uncomfortable concert.

In addition to the great food, it’s fun to peruse the photos of all of the famous people who have eaten at Ben’s Chili Bowl. A DC staple since 1958, many famous people have eaten there, including Nat King Cole, Martin Luther King, Jr., Bono, and President Obama.

Leave a Reply

