Baked Macaroni and Cheese

A few weeks ago, I got married. One of the (many) precious gifts that we received was a cookbook that my husband’s grandmother started and included plenty of inserts for us to add our own recipes. The first recipe that I decided to add is my mother’s macaroni and cheese recipe.

Right out of the oven

I grew up on this macaroni and cheese, and honestly, I’ve had few that compare to it. To most, it would be a completely underwhelming macaroni and cheese recipe because there are no bells or whistles. There are no surprises in this recipe, in fact, it probably couldn’t be any simpler. But, I love it. Despite the simplicity of this recipe, I checked with my mother one more time before making it (just in case I forgot an ingredient or some proportion). She always made this recipe without measuring much, but I attempted to measure so that I could replicate. I’m excited that this is the first recipe that we were able to add to our “family favorites” cookbook.

We took it out of the oven a little early, so instead of putting it back in the oven, we used our blow torch. Fun! Sam insisted that I include an image of me using the blow torch, so here you go.

Blow torch to brown!

INGREDIENTS:

  • 1 pound pasta (elbow macaroni or shells are preferred)
  • 3/4 to 1 pound extra sharp cheddar
  • 1/4 to 1/2 pound of a milder cheese (I usually go with Monterey Jack)
  • 3 cups milk
  • 3 tablespoons flour
  • Salt and pepper to taste
  • Bread crumbs (probably 1 to 1 1/2 cups, enough to top the casserole)
  • 2 tablespoons butter

DIRECTIONS:

  1. Boil pasta until al dente. Drain.
  2. Layer pasta and cheese, starting with a layer of pasta and ending with a layer of cheese.
  3. Mix milk, flour, salt, and pepper together. Pour over pasta and cheese.
  4. Top with bread crumbs. Slice butter into small pats and scatter over the top of the casserole.
  5. Bake at 375 degrees for 40-50 minutes, until browned on top.

 

Leave a Reply

