Stir Fry Sauce

I’m trying to cook with only ingredients that I have in the freezer already, only supplementing with fresh ingredients that I can’t keep long-term anyway. Last Friday, I threw together a quick stir fry. The basics of a stir fry, for me, are typically rice, a protein, and a mess of vegetables. I needed a good sauce, though, and I just wasn’t in the mood for plain Braggs*.

So, I found this recipe for Asian Stir Fry Sauce at allrecipes.com.I had all of the ingredients except for corn syrup and sesame oil. I Googled it, and I learned that you can use 1 cup of sugar and 1/4 cup water instead (bring the water to a boil, stir sugar in). It seemed too sweet, but I think maybe I wasn’t paying attention and used too much sugar. We didn’t have sesame oil, so we just used some of the oil that had separated from the tahini that we had in the fridge.

I would definitely make this again, it’s my new go-to stir fry sauce when I’m not int he mood for sweet and sour sauce.

INGREDIENTS:

  • 2 tablespoons corn starch
  • 3 tablespoons brown sugar
  • 1/8 teaspoon crushed red OR cayenne pepper
  • 1/2 cup light corn syrup
  • 1/2 cup soy sauce
  • 2 tablespoons dry sherry
  • 1 tablespoon sesame oil
  • 1 tablespoon rice vinegar
  • 1 tablespoon minced fresh ginger
  • 2 teaspoons minced garlic

DIRECTIONS:

  1. Stir corn starch, brown sugar and crushed red pepper together in a small saucepan. Add remaining ingredients; stir well.
  2. Cook over medium heat stirring occasionally. Heat until mixture boils for 1 full minute. Cook and stir an additional 1 to 2 minutes, or until thickened to a syrup-like consistency.
  3. Pour over stir-fry and enjoy!

*Braggs is a soy product, and it’s a great substitute for soy sauce because it has the flavor of soy sauce without all of the sodium.

Leave a Reply

