Black Bean Burgers

Before tonight, I had never eaten a black bean burger before. I  like veggie burgers and I like black beans, so I figured I would like them. I found (and slightly adapted) this recipe on AllRecipes and gave it a try. These are quick and easy to make. I would try these again, but I would use less cumin (not my favorite spice), and add salt. I forgot about the garlic, but I will absolutely add it the next time.

 

Sorry about the blurry picture. Served with broccoli, per usual. I ate the burger with American cheese, but I removed a slice from the other half of the burger for a better idea of what the burgers look like.

INGREDIENTS:

  • 1 (16 ounce) can black beans, drained and rinsed
  • 1/2 green bell pepper, cut into 2 inch pieces
  • 1/2 onion, cut into wedges
  • 3 cloves garlic, peeled
  • 1 egg
  • 1 tablespoon chili powder
  • 1 tablespoon cumin
  • 1 teaspoon Thai chili sauce or hot sauce
  • 1/2 cup bread crumbs

DIRECTIONS:

  1. Add onions and green peppers to food processor, pulse until well-minced.
  2. Add the rest of the ingredients and pulse until well-blended.
  3. Form into 4-6 patties. Bake on greased tray at 375 F for 10 minutes on each side
Leave a Reply

