My NHL Adventure

I went to my first NHL game on Friday night. I was feeling really under the weather, but Washington Capitals tickets are hard to come by and I didn’t want to lose my chance to see my first (and maybe only) NHL game. I had no idea what to expect from the game. I’ve never watched a full hockey game on TV and had heard plenty of jokes to the effect of, “I went to a fight and a hockey game broke out.” Despite feeling sick, I had a wonderful time. Hockey is fast-paced and moves a LOT faster than baseball and has fewer time-outs than football.

My favorite part about hockey is the penalty box. I like that the player that commits the penalty is the player who is punished. I realize that in a way, this punishes the whole team because they’re down a player. Nonetheless, I like it. And I kinda wish that we had penalty boxes in more aspects of life. A friend pointed out that we could “social flag” a person and stick them in the penalty box for a social time-out when they are acting like a tool. I think I could get behind this policy.

A Capitals player going into the penalty box

Besides, you do get to leave the box when the penalty ends!

A Capitalss player exiting the penalty box, trying to steal the puck on his way out

Another favorite aspect of the game was Mites on Ice. It’s an initiative by the Washington Capitals that allows amateur hockey players (little kids!) to play hockey at intermission in front of the Capitals fans. They’re really adorable and it was adorable that both teams of Mites chased after the puck in a herd of little kid adorableness.

In sum, the Capitals game was a lot of fun and I had a great experience despite my limited knowledge of hockey.

Leave a Reply

