Crock Pot Roast

I made my first beef roast yesterday. It was tasty, but tough. I’m not sure if it was a) the cut of meat, b) the fact that I cooked it in the crock pot, or c) that I didn’t cook it long enough (though it was cooked thoroughly, per the internal temperature). The fiance’s mom makes awesome pot roast with gravy. She pours a can of cream of mushroom soup over the roast and when it comes out of the oven, the juices from the roast mix with the soup to make gravy. It’s pretty delicious.

Not a speck of green on this plate - don't tell my mother!

I wanted to replicate the future mother-in-law’s awesome roast and gravy, but in the crock pot. I also didn’t have any cream of mushroom (or chicken or celery) soups on hand. So, I found a substitute for a homemade version using corn starch, chicken bouillon, powdered milk, basil, thyme, pepper, and water. I added the roast to the crock pot, covered with the soup substitute, and cooked on high for two hours and low for two hours.

Unfortunately, the soup substitute did not turn out well. The corn starch solidified at the bottom of the crock pot. So, instead of having a ready-made gravy, I still had to use the drippings to make a gravy. The gravy was tasty, though.

The meat was also kind of tough. I don’t remember what cut I bought, but I seem to remember that my mother told me it was a good cut for a roast, so I’m guessing it wasn’t the meat’s fault. I’ve read a couple of different things – either I didn’t allow it to cook in the crock pot long enough, or I should have seared all sides in oil before cooking. I’ll try one of these the next time I make a roast.

Not all was lost, though. I did get to eat pot roast with mashed potatoes and gravy, and I did enjoy it. I’m definitely looking forward to the next attempt.

Leave a Reply

