Lemon Yummies

I’m going to a friend’s house tonight and when I asked if there was anything I could make, she asked if I still knew how to make the lemon bars my mom made when I was in high school. So, I called my mom for the recipe. It turns out that they’re not standard lemon bars, but they’re an easier version called Lemon Yummies. They’re from my mom’s Grange Cookbook, which she swears is the only cookbook one should ever need.

INGREDIENTS:

Crust:

  • 2 cups flour
  • 2 sticks butter
  • ½ cup confectioners’ sugar

Filling:

  • 4 eggs, beaten
  • 2 cups granulated sugar
  • 1/8 teaspoon salt
  • ¼ cup flour
  • 6 tablespoons lemon juice (I used concentrated lemon juice from a bottle, and I used about 7 tablespoons)


DIRECTIONS:

Combine first 3 ingredients by cutting butter into flour and confectioner’s sugar. Press into 9×13 inch cake pan. Bake at 350 degrees for 20 minutes. Combine the ingredients for filling until well-blended, pour over crust and return to oven (350 degrees) for another 25 minutes. Sprinkle with confectioner’s sugar, cool, cut into squares.

Leave a Reply

