Curried Millet and Chick Peas

24 Jan

The last time I was in Lancaster, PA, I got a chance to stop by my favorite little grocery store, Forry’s Country Store. Forry’s is a little grocery store with a big variety of herbs, spices, grains, other baking essentials, and even candy. Aside from the great selection, you can’t beat their prices on most of the bulk items. So when I saw a bag of millet, I grabbed it because I know I come across recipes that call for it now and then.

I’m glad I had the millet on hand, because tonight for dinner I made a recipe from Can You Stay for Dinner: Curried Millet with Chickpeas and Currants. I subbed raisins for the currants because that’s what I had on hand. I’ve never cooked with millet before. In fact, to my knowledge, I’ve never eaten millet before today. It’s safe to say that I had no idea what to expect from millet going into this recipe.

That, my friends, is how much broccoli I consume.

Well, internet, let me just say this. Millet is a cross between quinoa and couscous, and I love it. The texture/flavor of quinoa doesn’t do it for me, but I love couscous. Millet is kind of fluffy like couscous and kind of chewy like quinoa, so it’s a great texture all around.

I ate this with roasted broccoli and plan to eat some leftover crock pot barbecue chicken later.

Curried Millet with Chick Peas and Raisins

INGREDIENTS:

  • 1 1/2 cups cooked millet, hot
  • 2 tablespoons unsalted butter
  • 1 tablespoon olive oil
  • 1 teaspoon apple cider vinegar
  • 1 teaspoon curry powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground turmeric
  • 1 teaspoon kosher salt
  • 1 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper
  • 1/2 cup shredded or grated carrots
  • 1/4 cup minced fresh flat-leaf parsley
  • 1/2 cup dried currants or raisins
  • 1 cup chickpeas

Ingredients not shown: millet and raisins

DIRECTIONS:

  1. Prepare millet – use 3 parts water to 1 part millet (use less water if you want the millet to be more dry and fluffy). Bring water to a boil, add millet, then reduce to a simmer. Cover and simmer for 25 minutes.
  2. Mix butter and olive oil into hot millet, until butter is melted.
  3. Stir in remaining ingredients.

Next time, I need to add something green to this dish.

Serves 6. Approximately 195 calories per serving.

One Response to “Curried Millet and Chick Peas”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Curried Millet with Stir-Fried Veggies and Beef « My Life of Learning, Eating, and Living - February 12, 2012

    [...] for two+ servings. Fortunately, I recently discovered millet and had some on hand. I still have the Curried Millet with Chick Peas and Raisins on my mind. Thus, Curried Millet with Stir-Fried Veggies and Beef was born. Fun cooking tip (that I [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 34 other followers

